Eat to a New You

December 29, 2008 at 5:18 pm Leave a comment

You know that saying “you are what you eat?” I will definitely be pondering it as I help my family get ready for the New Year.   The buzz lately has been all about antioxidants-  especially since there was some Oprah show all about acai.  However, I don’t have to go on a crazed grocery hunt to get what I am looking for.  I can just look in my pantry for blueberry jam.  For those of you who didn’t know, blueberries are among the best antioxidants out there. Wildtree’s  wildly blueberry jam on flaxseed bread (which is great for digestion) is one of my favorite ways to start the morning off right.

When it comes to vegetables, broccoli is one of my favorites.  I love to stirfry broccoli in Roasted Garlic Grapeseed Oil with some shrimp.  I also love to eat it raw. Broccoli contains tons of Vitamin A, a nutrient vital for proper eyesight.  It’s also very high in iron, which is what people really need in cold weather when they start feeling chilly inside.  Iron plays a pretty serious role inside of our bodies when it comes to regulating our temperature.

When I open up one side of my refrigerator, I find Wildtree’s Pasta Sauce and I also find Wildtree’s ketchup (which is Free of High Fructose Cornsyrup).  I love spaghetti and so do my kids.  Not only is it a good source of carbohydrates, offering fuel for exercise and daily activities; but it is a fantastic source of lycopene.  Lycopene, a nutrient found in tomato sauce will keep my heart healthy all season long.

I probably think about my heart more than any other organ, so while tomatoes are often on my mind, so is fish.  Omega-3 fatty acids found in fatty fish like  salmon help promote a healthy heart.   Fish oil stimulates blood circulation and additionally has been shown to reduce blood pressure. During the new year, I will be eating lots of salmon marinated in Zesty Lemon Grapeseed Oil or Wildtree’s Morroccan Salmon Sauce with a little bit of broccoli on the side.  For starters, I think that the flaxseed bread with Wildtree’s Tuscan Bread Dipper should do the trick.

Little by little, I eat towards a new me.  For me, Wildtree products are a great starting point– easy to prepare, easy to eat, good for my body, but also good for my mind!

Entry filed under: Eat..

Holiday Leftover Extravaganza!!!! Preserve your life, with preservative free food!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

December 2008
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031